Squash …pt.1

Fall is my absolute favorite season. The colors, the cool weather and the comforting food.  I love using pumpkins and squash in my recipes, they offer lots of color and nutrition in the kitchen.  Squash is used in a variety of ways from soups to cakes and even pastas. I love to use it in desserts and appetizers; offers a little surprise to the table.

 

Squash Jam

2 cups of Squash (peeled and cut into tiny cubes)

3 cups of sugar

1 cinnamon stick

2 cloves

1 Star anise

1/2 lemon (rind) and juice

1 Orange (rind) and juice

I take my squash cubes in  a large bowl and  marinate  overnight in the Sugar, cinnamon stick, anise star, and cloves. (mix well)

Next day, I place the Squash and marinate in a large sauce pan over medium heat.  Add the lemon and Orange rinds with juice. Stirring Frequently; letting it come to a boil until the mixture thickens into a syrup/Jam.

I then (carefully)place the very hot jam in sterilized jars(just rinse and boil them in a large pot of water for a few minutes)

close the lids tightly turning the jars over (up-side-down). I leave them overnight and they will  seal.  Store your jam in a cold dry place. will last a good year.

*** I serve this Jam as an appetizer over some brie or a soft cows cheese (feta like)  with an assortment of crackers and pita.

Pack it up for lunch as a snack for the kids. (mine love it with “the laughing cow” cheese brand)

Tastes sooo delish!****

Squash Phyllo Pastry

I take the same Squash Jam and place it in the center of some Phyllo Pastry sheets (cut into squares)

Add about a tbsp of feta or goat cheese

wrap up the phyllo pastry

goes in the oven at 350C till the pastry is crisp and golden color

Serve with a sprinkle of Cinnamon powder.

***For us big kids, serve with coffee! Yum.

