Homemade Tomato sauce

photo source The Table Runner

When ever I make some pasta for the kids and have company over, I always get asked for the recipe.  My secret is very simple, it’s in the sauce! I make my own tomato sauce.  Making my own allows me to control the seasoning in the meal and sugar content. The sauce always tastes fresh and extra juicy.

Early September, I run out to my grocers and pick up a load of tomato cases (they usually go on sale during this time of year) I prepare my tomatoes and store it away in sealed mason jars. The jars are then stored in my cold room and last all year round. It is a bit time-consuming but well worth it.  For those who just want to give it a try without committing to a full years worth you can definitely make a small batch in your kitchen.

What you will need:

  • about 1/2 box of tomato (aprox.12-15lbs)
  • Canning jars ( I use large to medium mason jars)
  • A large stock pot to cook and then seal your jars.
  • Some fresh Basil leaves

First wash your tomatoes, then dip them into some boiling water so the skin is easier to peel

once cool, skin and take off the tops

chop them up

Then in a pot cook your tomatoes  (you want to let it simmer a couple of hours on low heat)

After couple of hours of cooking you take a hand blender and blend

while the tomato is still hot carefully fill your mason jars leaving about 1/2 inch head space. I throw in some fresh basil. wipe the rim clean and close the lid tightly. I then place the jars in the pot (lids face down)and let simmer 10 minutes.

carefully take out the jars and turn the jars over on a cooling rack overnight (lids face down) this will seal the jars.

It’s very simple, I don’t season the tomato while in the jars so that i can use it in many recipes and season my meals while making them. I use my sauce in stews, rice, pastas, and soups.

No preservatives, No added Sugars.

Pasta Meat Sauce

  • extra lean ground beef or turkey                          
  • 1 large onion, 2 garlic cloves chopped or crushed
  • 1 large celery stalk
  • 1 yellow bell pepper
  • homemade tomato sauce
  • olive oil
  • 1 bayleaf
  • 1 cup chicken stock

In a sauce pan heat olive oil and bayleaf add your chopped onion and garlic saute together

once the onion is golden color, I throw in my yellow bell pepper and chopped celery stalk let it simmer about 6 minutes

I then take a hand blender and blend to a paste

add your extra lean ground beef or turkey and mix till meat is browned

then add my chicken stock, salt and pepper to taste and your tomato sauce

let it cook another 20 minutes.

You are then ready to add to your cooked pasta of choice. (I sometimes add a little water if i want it more runny (juicy)

