Bunny Slope Smoothies

Creamy smooth carrot shake

Creamy smooth carrot shake

A great way to get your kids to eat more greens is juicing them. I have been making some tasty smoothie recipes and packed them for lunch. What I do is keep some Klean Kanteen bottles in the freezer overnight and in the morning I fill with my smoothies and pack them out the door with the kids for lunch. Super easy and packed with health bite! (I have these for my own snack in between meals) To get full benefits of the smoothies I make sure to keep a good balance of fruit and veggies. You want your smoothies to be sweet and appealing to the kids but you don’t want to make them all sugar (natural sugar) so make sure to mix in those less appealing greens and even incorporate some super foods to provide them with the best.

To help beat those winter blues try this recipe I have found Inspired by Sarma Melngailis ‘Raw World real world’ (Bunny Spice)

“Carrot Juice is a great source of Beta-carotene and a powerful antioxidant. Fresh ginger is great for digestion or settling an upset stomach and improves circulation”. – Sarma Melgailis

In a blender puree until smooth:

3 large carrots (washed and peeled)

1 small knob(about the size of your thumb) of ginger root

1 cup of almond milk (or another nut milk of choice) I actually pack rice milk or 2% organic milk for our nut-free school

2 cups of diced bananas

Pinch of ground cinnamon

What you get is a smooth creamy refreshing smoothie. It’s such a great boost when your feeling down and tried.  Notice there is actually no fruit in this one, Carrots are sweet and delicious! Enjoy! This is definitely my favourite.

